Mabon and Life

Well, for us down in Australia-land (and everywhere else on the southern hemisphere), it’s Mabon, or the Autumnal Equinox.

The Autumnal Equinox is all about the balance between light and dark, life and death, summer and winter. It’s celebrated on 21 March in the s. hemisphere, and 21 September in the n. hemisphere. It’s a time of thanksgiving and harvest, one of which I have not been able to fulfill because my tomatoes got eaten up by bugs!  (I definitely do not have a green thumb).

I do have a lot to be thankful for: a loving and supportive husband, an awesome family, my health (well sorta!), a somewhat creative mind, and of course all those other things, like a roof over my head, food to eat, stuff like that. 🙂

I can’t help but reflect on the darker stuff, though, what with the impending darkness of winter coming up.  Lots of emotional stuff, things like anger and anxiety.

I’m supposed to be starting my course on Business soon – technically I am all registered, all enrolled, all ready to begin, but I’m still waiting to hear from the instructor.  Been two days going on three now since I was supposed to receive word from them.  :/ Studying from home… I thought it was supposed to be less of a pain.

Been spending some time reflecting on where I am in life and where I want to go.  I’ve had some passing thoughts – maybe I should get into graphic design, or maybe open up a store… But lately I’ve been getting ideas like, maybe I should be a photographer, or a journalist… Take pictures and sell them, like Spiderman!

I’m sort of frustrated that I still don’t even know what I want to do professionally.  It feels like a giant roadblock.  I want to find something that I will love doing, but until then I’ll need to study and  cross my fingers hoping that someone will hire me. :/

Leave a Reply

