What is with Politics these days?

I think there’s something inherently childish about the Republican Party as it stands today. More specifically, I speak of the right wing media. Even more specifically than that, I’m talking about Fox News frequently referring to Bill Maher as “Pig” Maher and Rush Limbaugh’s recent comments about college student Sandra Fluke, calling her a “slut,” a “prostitute,” and inviting her to post videos of herself having sex on the internet so everybody could watch.

Of course, when I speak of these things, particularly recently what with the whole Rush slut comments, I’m faced with responses like, “But…But Bill Maher called Sarah Palin a c*nt!!!”

My response?

Bill Maher is a comedian. There’s a difference between a comedian telling a bad joke and a famous right-wing radio talk-show host calling a woman a slut because she is standing up for women to receive contraceptives paid for by their employer’s insurance so that they can get the reproductive health care that they can’t afford.

I’m sorry. I used to be a pretty conservative person. But then I grew up. I started forming opinions as to why I believed this or why I opposed that. After that happened, I was able to decide that I did not want to have any part associating with those who would deny my brothers and sisters the right to marry whomever they want, among many other things. It’s just not who I am, not who I want to be, and not what I want for my home country.

I just don’t know what’s going on lately. The political climate of the US has become one of tolerance toward religious bigotry, blatant sexism, obvious homophobia and juvenile name-calling. It’s tiresome and frightening all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

